Gaming is a lifestyle

League of Legends at the Olympics

OlympicFor not too long ago it was announced that League of Legneds was finally deemed a professional sport, which means players could now get working visas for the United States. And this was huge for League of Legends and eSport as a whole.

But as if that was not enough: P4RGaming announced yesterday that it was accepted and announced for the Olympics in Rio de Janeiro!

We spoke with the Jacques Rogge, current president of the International Olympics Committee, as to why they allowed this eSport to make it into the Olympics.

“We needed a way to make the Olympics more accessible for young people,” said Rogge via his translator, “The sad part is, youth these days do not have the interest or capability to take up other Olympic sports. By introducing the League of Legends as a sport, we hope to rejuvenate the Olympics and maybe get some more youth interested in other Olympic sports like weightlifting or handball.”

 

Okay.. now before I move on, let me just take my time to calm you down and reassure you that this is NOT an actual thing, there is no League of Legends or any other video game for the Olympics. After P4RGaming released this announcement I dug in to find some source or other websites having the same news, but without luck. They were the only one who had this breaking news, (although a lot of people and websites quoted them on this). So I did a bit of research on them and it turns out that P4RGaming is 100% satire. It’s very well written, and if you don’t know them and only stumbled upon them once or twice you might actually believe what they are writing, I know I did!

But anyway… what if this was actually true? I mean… sure, the IOC would never agree to let a video game become an Olympic sport, but what if? Even if it’s just a troll post, there is some truth in it. eSport, believe it or not, actually requires a whole lot of physical exercise. Yeah okay, you don’t need to be able to lift 70kg or run a marathon to click a mouse or keyboard, but it is exhausting to sit through those gaming sessions and be 100% focused, just like chess. And come on.. if curling can be called a sport then sure eSport can as well!

I had a post, many many moons ago, where there was a podcast that discussed the matter – should eSport me at the Olympics? Back then I said yes, and I sure as hell still do. Bringing this topic to the table and discuss it would in everyone’s interest: the game developers get more attention, the gamers and gaming community gets more recognition and the rest of the world gets to see what all the fuzz is about.
If this was to happen, I’m sure it would bring a whole new crowd to the Olympics –  there is a huge, huge group of people who are not interested in sport what so ever, let alone the Olympics.

Even though this would probably never happen, I’m sure this could subject could give a lot of positive feedback to the gaming community, and maybe some of the big media companies could start cover eSport, so that the people who are dedicated to it could actually make a living of it.eSports2

My head was filled with thoughts on the subject, and I wanted to write it all down, but somehow I just started to ramble near the end, but I hope you get my point!

One response

  1. What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I loved this article.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!

    April 24, 2014 at 16:11

Leave a Reply

