Gaming is a lifestyle

So much to do and so little time!

Oh wow I just realised how long ago since my last post here! Not exactly sure why I haven’t blogged for a while, but it’s a damn shame that I haven’t! Since my last posts quite a lot has happened so let’s take it from the start of the year (happy new year by the way!).

As most of you might have realised by now I spend quite a lot of my spare time playing World of Warcraft. Since I started way back I’ve been playing on Bladefist and never really got settled on any other server that I tried. But as many other servers it started to suffer from lack of players, and quite fast it became hard to even find a pug, profession crafter or a battleground group, the server was more or less dead. My guild then decided to transfer, and I have to say I’ve never been so angry or disappointed in their decision! As mentioned I’ve been playing on the server for ever, and it felt like home (or at least it did before MoP got launched), people knew my character and I refused to leave. I was still hoping to have take back my “glory and reputation” as it was in The Burning Crusade. But it seemed to me like I was the only one in the guild who didn’t want to transfer and so the guild did. Of course I moved with them, since the guild is pretty much the reason I still play the game. But still, almost 2 months since the transfer I haven’t quite got used to it, and I’m not satisfied. It just seems so wrong to play on a PVE server when you’re used to PVP! You can’t just let that scumbag horde take your mineral vein or the quest mob, you should kill him for that! Oh… nope, you just have to sit back like a sucker and wait for the next one. But of course the transfer had its benefits. We seem to be back to proper raiding and have gotten quite a few new recruits to the guild!

https://i1.wp.com/images.vg247.com/current//2013/01/League-of-Legends-season-3.jpg

But enough of the QQ’ing. The new year has also had great news from the eSport scene. eSport is bigger and more popular than ever! In February Riot’s League of Legends Championship Series started and I’ve never enjoyed watching LoL as much as now! LCS is, as far as I know, only in Europe and North America and each region has their tournament and teams. 8 teams in region, in Europe it’s Evil Geniuses, Gambit Gaming, Fnatic, SK Gaming, Giants, Dragonborns, Against All Authority and last but not least Copenhagen Wolves. In North America there are Curse, Team Solo Mid, Team Dignitas, Counter Logic Gaming, compLexity, Good Game University, Team MRN and Vulcun. I haven’t seen too much of the NA games due to time differences and so on, so can’t say much about that. But the European games have been amazing! We’ve seen such good plays throughout the season and there is only more to come! Now obviously everyone has a favourite in the tournament, and obviously I’m cheering for Copenhagen Wolves. Sure, they haven’t been able to take a win yet, but they have been playing amazingly good and have had their fair shot at taking the win. There are quite a few reasons for this, but I do believe the main reason is that they have had a stand-in ever since the start because one of their main players have been under aged and therefore not allowed to play. And then last week they needed another stand-in since their midlaner got mugged the very morning of the games and not being able to play. But I’m am 100% certain they will get their first win this weekend!
Oh yeah.. The NA games are being played on thursday and friday and the European games are played Saturday and Sunday, so do tune in to  enjoy and support eSport!

Another big deal in the world of eSport is that Starcraft 2: Heart of the Swarm is being released! OMGOMG nerd chills! The game looks awesome, the new units creates a whole new style of play and absolutely throws over the zergs and their recent dominance on the scene. The new maps is also a pleasant sight, nice with a change you know? So 19 days, if I know how to count, and then the game is out! Obviously someone has been playing the beta, and I envy them so much! I have my own beta key and I feel so bad for not playing it but I simply can’t find the time to play it, and it bugs the shit out of me! But I swear I’ll play it a lot more, if not now then when the game is released!

But the thing I’m most excited about right now is that I have been able to get my foot inside of eSport! Sure, nothing big right now, but I’m hoping it’s going to grow and I’ll surely do what I can to make it so. I have joined Team ephix as their news reporter! The team is fairly new and only had a CS:GO and PES team to start with, but two days ago we’ve been able to add a LoL team to the squad. I’m really excited about this since CS:GO is kinda boring to watch, but mainly because the team seems to have really big ambition and is aiming to play in the midterm qualifiers for the LCS tournament!

But yeah, that’s about the big stuff going on right now for me. I’ve been doing a lot more of course, but I don’t feel the need to mention it, but all I can say is that there is so much to do and so little time!

But one thing is for sure… Mike is over and out!

4 responses

  1. Adam Henderson

    CS:GO Kinda boring to watch?! SHAME ON YOU.

    February 20, 2013 at 14:51

    • Surely you can’t think CS is fun to watch?! Sure playing is fun but watching it is soo boring! I’d rather watch paint dry than watching CS!

      February 20, 2013 at 18:04

  2. You should definitely check out some of the NA games, Curse is looking pretty damn good.

    February 21, 2013 at 10:59

    • I try to watch it whenever I can, but the due to the time difference I can never really watch more than 1-2 hours, unless I’m pulling an all nighter ^^ But I’m hoping to see Dignitas vs CLG today!

      February 21, 2013 at 12:07

Leave a Reply

