Gaming is a lifestyle

World Championship Series

If you’re a Starcraft 2 fan, or maybe a World of Warcraft fan, you might have noticed that there was something special about this weekend. It was the long-awaited World Championship Series (WCS) in Starcraft 2 and World of Warcraft: Arena, and as the obvious Starcraft fan I am it couldn’t be at a worse time! My mum decided to visit me in Denmark so I had to choose.. Sleep and no Starcraft or Starcraft and no sleep.. Wont say it was a hard choice though.

But lets get back to the WCS. It started several months ago when the Qualifiers were held all over the world, which lead to the different countries National Finals. The finalists then went on to the Regional Finals and in the end the 540 players were cut down to 32 for the Grand Finals in Shanghai, China. The Nationals and Regional being overly amazing and exciting to watch one would think the Grand Final would be just as amazing or even better! But alas I’ve never been so disappointed when it comes to a Starcraft 2 tournament. There were several reasons for my disappointment. The production was horrible! While the idea of having 4 different streams for Starcraft is great, they simply failed to make it work. So many mistakes that just shouldn’t be there, such as muting the sound in the breaks between the matches, so that don’t have to hear the production crew attempt to communicated. But the their biggest production mistake was the lack of preparation.. How can they plan a global final and expect millions of viewers without setting the streams up for it?! The main stream crashed over and over and over again in the middle of matches at the worst time you could imagine! Compared to other events this was absolutely shite.. I hope Blizzard will think twice next time and actually pick a production crew that knows how to do it *hint* Dreamhack *hint*.
But other than the production screw up I just didn’t feel excited about this event.. I’m not entirely sure what did it but I think it has to do something with the fact that it was in China… Not that I have anything against the location! More the fact that the time difference was horrible for Europeans! It started at 2-3am and ended around 1pm which screwed me over big time. Another thing that quite annoyed me was the player line-up: To me the global finals should be the 32 best players in the world, and not just the best players from the respected regions… I was really disappointed that I didn’t get to see players like MC, Naniwa, MVP, MMA and ThorZaIN! But you cannot get everything you want right?

Okay I might sound like it was the worst Starcraft event ever.. it wasn’t.. even if the players weren’t my favourite they really did deliver some awesome games, and if that wasn’t good enough the casters did an amazing job, as usual! Seriously, having Day[9], Tastosis and Apollo can always pull it off and bring you great entertainment!

And now there’s only one thing left to say: Mike is over and out, and I’ll see you at Dreamhack this weekend!

Leave a Reply

