Gaming is a lifestyle

League of Legends final and World of Warcraft server hacked

This last week has been quite busy, and I haven’t even been raiding in World of Warcraft! Well actually we raided on Wednesday, but without any luck and haven’t been able to raid the other days.. But a week without raid does let one do other stuff! I have gone back into Starcraft 2 (about damn time if you ask me!) and even though I am still in Bronze League I feel like I have become just a tad better than last time. I have been playing in 3 Playhem tournaments (for scrubs like me) in the past week, and even if I didn’t win I managed to get 3rd place in all 3 tournaments, and managed to get amazing $3 from it! So let’s just hope that I keep getting better and win bigger amounts right?

I’m quite a fan of League of Legends and it seems like I ain’t the only one. Riot Games has released a quite impressive infographic where they say that League of Legends is the most played game in the world with 32 million players monthly playing over 1 billion (yes you read it right, billion) hours of game time every month! The infographic is quite big so can’t post it here, but you can see it here. Have a look at it guys, some amazing facts in there!
Having so many players and such a huge fan base it isn’t really a surprise that they can make the League of Legends Championship Final so attractive! With $1.000.000 to 1st place every team and player would do anything to get it. But it was only Taipai Assassins and Azubu Frost that managed to get that far, but Taipai Assassins came out on top and won the final 3-1, took the $1 million prize and the awesome trophy

I’ve never really enjoyed watching the League of Legend streams or tournaments, but I was quite hyped for this final, and the show didn’t disappoint! Okay.. I didn’t actually see the entire show as I fell asleep, but the start and end was amazing, and I’m already looking forward to the Season 3 final! In case you didn’t see the final you can watch the entire show on Riot Games Twitch.tv channel

There also happened something completely else this weekend. Blizzards World of Warcraft servers were hacked, but the hackers didn’t hack to do any harm or “evil” stuff… Well.. actually that is a lie.. The hackers spent 4 hours on a server in North America killing everything that moved in Stormwind and Orgrimmar! The hackers said they only did this because they could and because it was fun. I wasn’t there myself, but the videos look awesome, and I could imagine it was quite fun to see.

(You can also see the body count in Orgrimmar here)

Other than that I’ve just been enjoying random games throughout the week, including a 3 co-op with my brothers in Magicka.. Quite fun!

I think that was about it for this week, lets hope it’ll be just as good the next weeks ^^ But that’s about it for me, Mike is over and out!

2 responses

  1. That was very entertaining to watch! I just find it extremely disappointing that we hear of WoW hacker attacks all the time still – when we pay so much for a game, this sort of thing should never happen this regularly.

    October 16, 2012 at 10:10

    • Seeing as WoW is one of the most attractive games to hackers I doubt we’ll see the number of hacking attempts go down ^^ But Blizzard are rather good at preventing attacks, and to help people that have been hacked 🙂

      October 16, 2012 at 18:09

Leave a Reply

