Gaming is a lifestyle

The day after gamescom

Monday morning, the day after gamescom and what a weekend! So much to talk about and so little time (actually that’s not true, I have nothing but time!). Anyway.. In my last post I mentioned that the Intel Extreme Masters Starcraft II tournament would be legendary, and boy legendary it was! We had the big stars like MC, NesTea and PuMa who everyone expected to more or less win the tournament, but to everyone’s surprise they didn’t even make it to top 4! MVP and Nerchio however did, and they didn’t disappoint even the slightest, and MVP managed to win the tournament in a 3-1 win over Nerchio. Meanwhile viOlet and the underdog VortiX (who just became my new favourite zerg) ended in a shared 3rd place.
I’m not going to talk about the games, but I can guarantee you that they we’re all bloody amazing and really worth to spend a few hours watching (and if you don’t feel like watching it all, then do please watch VortiX’s games, the guy is a beast!). And also a big thank you to the 4 legendary casters, Tastosis, Kaelaris and Day[9].. you were all amazing!

There was also a League of Legends tournament, but as I find it oh so boring to watch I didn’t pay even the slightest attention to it, and I have no idea who won..!

Other than the amazing tournaments there was the actual gamescom, where the game developers showed off their latest stuff and whatnot. Now as some of you might have noticed I am a huge Blizzard fan, so obviously they were the one to catch my attention:

First of all they released the brand new World of Warcraft: Mist of Pandaria opening cinematics! Now Blizzard are known to make absolutely amazing cinematic, and boy did they not disappoint! I’ve heard a lot of people saying this is the worst cinematic from them yet and that it doesn’t match the previous cinematics. And to a certain point I do agree with them. But the cinematic in itself is absolutely amazing, it’s beautiful, exciting and funny, but as others have mentioned before me, it lacks that one touch that makes it a bit more brutal, it lacks blood! But I’ll let you decide, have a look at it and let me know what you think!

Other stuff that Blizzard has announced during gamescom is that everyone will be able to play all races in Mist of Pandaria, and not only the people who get the expansion pack as it has been in the previous expansions. This is a huge step for Blizzard as it might bring people that quit WoW back and get additional people to start playing. As it’s free-to-play up to level 20 you can easily try out all the races and see if you’d like it.

I’ve already talked about lots of stuff that changes in Mist of Pandaria, so I’m not really gonna repeat myself, but this video by IGN does quit nicely sum it up for you!

Blizzard also sort of announced that the Starcraft II: Heart of the Swarm beta will open for public soon ish, which means that the actual release isn’t far away! I’m not that much up to date with the changes and updates, but when we get a release date I promise to sum it up, but I can tell you this much: It looks like shit loads of fun! But you can read/watch the IGN post about Heart of the Swarm, and get the feeling of the game!

“Enough with the Blizzard already!”
Okay okay calm down guys, no need to get upset!

There were several other game developers at gamescom, and they had games just as big (if not bigger) as Blizzard. I’m not going to pretend to know much about the games, nor am I going to pretend that I’ve played all of them, but I’ll give a quick overview of the biggest announcement!

According to several gaming sites Remember Me was the biggest announcement at gamescom, so let’s have a quick look at the trailer and gameplay:


Okay, so it looks kinda fancy, but then again it really reminds me of a lot of other games, like Assassins Creed, Deus Ex and whatnot, but the thing that struck me right away is that it sort of reminded me of the Bourne movies..? Not my cup of tea, but looks interesting non the less!

And speaking of Assassin Creed, Ubisoft showed us a bit more of the naval warfare:

Hmm.. I’ve always liked the Assassin Creed series, but this game really doesn’t give me the same feeling/excitement as the previous games have.. Except from the combat gameplay I have a hard time seeing this as an Assassin Creed game, but I have been proven oh so wrong so many times before!

The game that caught my attention, and I’m looking forward to try is Dishonored. This isn’t a new announcement that came during gamescom and I don’t think they revealed anything new either, so I think it was just to show off.. But the game looks amazing! Sort of steam punk mixed with Assassins Creed? Well I like what I see, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it when it releases on October 12, 2012! Meanwhile we can just enjoy the trailer and drool!

So that was my quick overview of gamescom! Didn’t go into depth with it as I hoped, but maybe next time! And maybe next time I get the chance to actually attend to it!

But did you watch/attend gamescom? Any thoughts on the stuff that was there? Feel free to share, I’d love to hear others opinions!

That’s it for me now, Mike is over and out after an exhausting weekend (not really, but lets just pretend)

Leave a Reply

