Gaming is a lifestyle

Time to get serious!

Alright peeps! It’s time for me to step up my gaming! So far I’ve only played at a casual level (well… I am in a LoL team that is trying to get semi serious, but not sure where that’s going right now), but I’ve always wanted to get more serious, and get good enough to at least compete in the smaller online tournaments and all that, and if my skills just simply ain’t enough, I could get the knowledge and know-how to be able to cast some matches or something like that!

The only game that I know of, and doesn’t require a whole team to compete is Starcraft II, so that’s what’s going to take a decent amount of my time for a while (don’t worry, I wont stop playing the other games that I currently play!).

If you don’t know the game and how tournaments and all that work, then here’s a short introduction:

What is Starcraft II?

Well, it is an RTS (real time strategy) game, where you build up a base and try to destroy the enemy base, simple as that! There are 3 races: Terran, Zerg and Protoss, and they each have their style, strengths and all that.

Ladder system: 

In-game you start off with getting placed in a league… There are 7 leagues in total, Bronze is the lowest league and where you’ll find most of the noobs. Silver and Gold is somewhat the same as Bronze, just higher level and bit better skilled, and somewhat goes for Platinum, even though it’s a quite decent league to be in. Diamond is the one to aim for to start with… here you’ll find a lot of good and even pro gamers that haven’t quite made it to Masters League. Masters League is where the top 2% in each region are placed. And then we have the Grand Master League, and this is the top pro players! There can only be 200 players in Grand Master League, and it’s frigging hard to get into!

Obviously, I’d want to be in the Grand Master League, but to make it at least a bit realistic I wanna aim for Platinum, as it’s the top of the ‘noobs’!

Tournaments:

Now this is where it gets interesting! Every Starcraft players dream would be to get to compete at the big events such as GSL, BlizzCon and DreamHack (I’m sure there are plenty more big ones but let’s just leave it at this). There are of course smaller events around the world all the time, with smaller prize pool and “less” famous players. And last but not least there are the online tournaments… Weekly (and even some daily) tournaments where there is a prize pool of $100 or access to the bigger events.

The matches are played 1v1 with a best of 3/5/7, and most of the time it’s one player playing all the matches, even though you do see a few team tournaments, but they aren’t as popular.

That was a short introduction to the world of Starcraft II, and hopefully it’ll be something I can compete in! So in the next few posts there might be a bit too much Starcraft in it, just so that I can brag with my skills, and just let ya’ll know how it’s going!

If you’re a Stacraft II player, do feel free to add me @ eCtoPlasmA #737 (on the European server) and you could teach me a thing or two… or just kick my ass, which ever you prefer!

Oh and by the way… I do for some reason have a S.T.A.L.K.E.R Call of Pripyat product key laying around, so if you’re interested in getting it let me know! (I haven’t played the game yet, but the trailer doesn’t look….. well… yeah…. BUT HEY! it’s a free game right?!)

That’s it for now guys, Mike is over and out!

One response

  1. Pingback: The team is bigger than the player! « Epiclary

Leave a Reply

